INDS 220 Florence: Birthplace of the Renaissance

This on-site course explores the brilliant artistic and literary culture of Florence during the late Middle Ages and Renaissance. Its primary text is the city and its monuments: its buildings, from church to palace; its art, including masterpieces by Giotto, Donatello, Botticelli, and Michaelangelo; and its literature, including such classics as Dante’s Inferno, Petrarch’s sonnets, and Boccaccio’s Decameron. Visits to Pisa, Siena, Assisi, and Rome enhance understanding of this extraordinary age.

Hello all. I’m heading off to Italy for 18 days leaving the 26th of May and coming back on the 13th of June. The last time I was in Europe was some 5 years ago (Ireland) and though I had a great time and a wonderful experience, it wasn’t the most intellectually fulfilling experience I’ve ever had. But this is the first time that I’m going abroad with a definite purpose to learn something and moreover the trip it is going to be led by two very awesome professors who are leaders in their fields (of Art History and International Affairs).

To say that I’m excited would be a gross understatement. I’m really looking forward to this trip for a number of different reasons (not the least of which is the chance to get away from campus for 3 weeks). It’s going to be a great chance to explore a new country, learn about an entirely different subject (Art History) and share some great experiences with friends. And of course, since this blog is here, I’ll be recording as much as I can right here.

One thought on “INDS 220 Florence: Birthplace of the Renaissance

  1. Amazing things here. I am very happy to see your post.
    Thanks so much and I am having a look forward to
    touch you. Will you please drop me a mail?

Leave a Reply

