Back in the US of A

I’m back. After 3 weeks touring across Italy looking at wonderful art and walking for hours and hours a day, it’s good to be back at Lafayette. After Florence we made our way to Assisi and then to Rome. Assisi looks like a place straight out of the Lord of the Rings and when you walk through Rome you walk through thousands of years of history. There is a lot to say about both these places (and a lot more to show) but that’ll have to wait until after I get settled back in and pull all 3GB of photos off my memory cards.

There is a lot that I’ve learned on this trip and a lot of new friends and experiences. In many ways, going to Italy was one of the best decisions of my life. The second last day we went to the Trevi Fountain in Rome and I threw a coin in. Apparently if you throw a coin in and make a wish, someday you’ll come back to Rome. But I can safely say that even if I didn’t throw in that coin, I would have been making my way back. Every place I’ve been to, including the small towns of Gubbio and Montefalco could easily take a lifetime to explore.

I never quite appreciated the importance of travel until this trip (even though I’ve been all over the place). But I agree wholeheartedly with Professor Pribic that travel is important. It opens the mind and teaches you a lot about new people, new places, new cultures and it teaches you so much about yourself. Personally, I knew that learning about Italy and art would be an interesting experience and was reading to learn a lot. What I wasn’t ready for was the change in myself that the trip would inspire. I feel braver and more open to trying new things. When you start college they tell you how much you’ll learn and change over the next four years. The last three weeks was the whole college experience accelerated many times.

Though I’m back on campus and getting ready to start my research work for the rest of summer, I still have a lot of thinking (and a lot of writing) to do about Italy and my experiences. The Italy trip will be staying with me for a while and that’s a good thing.

One thought on “Back in the US of A

  1. Pingback: Voices » Back in the US of A

Leave a Reply

